Read it:

by tehgay

That book that changed your life? About the homosexual next door? Yeah. I’ve read that.

That film about AIDS? Yeah. Saw it.

That one pseudo-study by an irreputable Christian organization that the APA has disavowed? I read that one.

That argument that seems beautiful in its simplicity and charm? I invented that when I was eight years old.

The problems that come when I don’t believe the Bible the way you do? I saw them first-hand when I stopped.

And that gay person that committed suicide? Yeah, I’ve had my own friends do that.

That Bible? I have read it. And I wish you would too.

And those apologetics? Came across those in highschool.

The great debate? Read it, disagreed with it, and left those people when I was eighteen.

What are you hoping to accomplish? Do you really think you have a perspective on this that I don’t? That you’ve stumbled across the one book I just never found in my years of studying? Do you think that because I’m not making random emotional appeals – talking about how I “cried every night wishing I was straight,” or “always felt I was different,” or “went to seminary to become a pastor and understand the Bible,” – Do you think that because I don’t do this, I didn’t study, didn’t learn, and didn’t come to an entirely different conclusion than you did?

I’ve read your stuff. Read mine, please.

Start with Whistling Vivaldi. Move on to Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria and Can We Talk About Race. Steer clear of Marin and “bridge-building” organizations. Next, you may search JSTOR, EPSCO, or your local library’s bookshelf for studies on homosexuality and mental health, and the formation of identity. You can also just go to the APA, AMA, WHO, or ASA’s website for their official statements on the topic. You might look into the civil rights movement, see how faith was used then, and draw some parallels. You might watch any of several documentaries, like Before Stonewall, After Stonewall, Fish out of Water, or For the Bible Tells Me So. You might read a little about the real formation of the Bible; John Hayes has a great textbook out about it. About the Gospel’s, there’s a great book by Paula Fredriksen called From Jesus to Christ. God’s Problem addresses how the Bible actually answers the question “Why do we suffer if there’s a just God?” Actually, you might read up on Theodicy in general, with CS Lewis’s The Problem of Pain. You might take a class or two at a local college that isn’t Christian affiliated.

Why don’t you do that, and then get back to me with all of your charming arguments? It would save us both so much time. Because I’m beginning to lose my patience.

